Advertisement

News

Google Chrome may solve bothersome compromised password warnings

Leri Koen

Published

The Google Chrome browser remains one of the most popular browsers. This is especially true regarding browsing speed and even its security. However, if there’s one thing users can agree on, it’s that the ‘Compromised Password’ warning can be very annoying, especially when it comes to passwords that you don’t want to, or can’t, change. However, Google may have a solution.

It is possible to disable these warnings completely from within your security settings. However, by disabling all of these warnings, you could place yourself at risk, which is not an ideal option. However, maybe you wouldn’t have to resort to this. Google is experimenting with a new feature for Chrome that allows users more control over their password warnings. 

Google Chrome may solve bothersome compromised password warnings

To this point, Google has a very all-or-nothing approach to password warnings. You can find this setting within your Chrome Security menu. Here you’ll see a simple toggle labeled ‘Warn me if my passwords get exposed in a data breach’. While this is a great security feature to have, this one-size-fits-all approach can be annoying. 

However, in the latest builds of Google Chrome, there has been a new experimental flag that allows users to disable warnings for individual passwords rather than disabling the whole feature. This would be a helpful feature in cases where you don’t want to, or can’t, change your password whenever the browser gives you a warning, for example, your router. 

If you want to give this option a test, head to chrome://flags/#mute-compromised-passwords and enable ‘Mute & Unmute compromised passwords in bulk leak check’. Once you’ve enabled this feature, you’ll have to restart Chrome. Once restarted, you can run a password audit and mute the warnings for any passwords that come up that you don’t want to receive notifications for.

There’s no guarantee that this feature will make it to an official release as it’s experimental at the moment. We look forward to seeing if this does become an option in the future, as it can be very handy while still keeping your browsing experience secure.

You may also like